Latest News

WA State 18 Girls Squad ConfirmedTuesday, June 18, 2024 - 11:41 AM

Reigning WAFLW Premiers East Fremantle and South Fremantle have each provided seven members of the state squad which will compete at this year’s AFL National Championships – U18 Girls.

Thirty four players have been named to represent WA over three matches at the Championships which begins with a showdown against Queensland in Perth on Saturday, August 3.

“We are really excited about the squad we have assembled for this year’s Championships,” said Trent Cooper, Manager Female Talent Programs and Coaching Specialist at the
West Australian Football Commission

“Most of the players have been in the State Academy Program for 18 months in either the 16’s or 18’s and we think they have progressed really well.

‘Seven players have come from outside the Academy and full credit goes to their respective WAFL clubs who have developed them so well in the WAFLW competition that they’ve demanded selection.”
Cooper made no secret of the qualities required as part of the selection process.

“First and foremost, we are looking for the most talented players who are willing to show the level of commitment needed to further their football journey,” he said.

The Championships will also serve as an audition for many players ahead of the AFLW Draft later this year.
“For all players it is a chance to test themselves against the best players in Australia,” Cooper said.

“Some players have already been identified by AFLW recruiters, but strong performances can put other players on the radar. 
“Clubs are looking for players who will make their teams better, so team success based on a group effort will ensure more players are draftable.

“The players themselves have worked together for 18 months and have developed a strong bond and are determined to have as much team success as possible before their careers head in different directions,” he said.

WA plays one practice match on July 27 before hosting the Queenslanders.

The side’s two other matches are away games against Vic Country and South Australia.


Juliet Kelly – Claremont
Claudia Wright – Claremont
Mia Jackson – Claremont
Zipporah Fish – East Fremantle
Natasha Entwistle – East Fremantle
Alicia Blizard – East Fremantle
Grace Freeman – East Fremantle
Taya Chambers – East Fremantle
Tiani Teakle – East Fremantle
Siena Jezierski-Brown – East Fremantle
Lucy Greenwood – East Perth
Sabella Banks – East Perth
Layla Firns – East Perth
Holly Britton – Peel Thunder
Jorja Haines – Peel Thunder
Dakota Sexton – Peel Thunder
Evie Cowcher – Peel Thunder
Kate Newson – South Fremantle
Noa McNaughton – South Fremantle
Molly O’Hehir – South Fremantle
Jasmine Bazeley – South Fremantle
Renee Morgan – South Fremantle
Zoe Keley – South Fremantle
Alira Fotu – South Fremantle
Taya Strickland – Subiaco
Layla Quinn-Schofield – Subiaco
Olivia Wolmarans – Subiaco
Olivia Crane – Subiaco
Lily Paterson – Swan Districts
Sienna Gerardi – Swan Districts
Carys D’Addario – Swan Districts
Mia Russo – West Perth
Megan Norbury – West Perth
Samara Sallie – West Perth