Latest News

Delahunty claims 2019 WAFL Sandover Medal Monday, September 16, 2019 - 11:03 PM

Lachlan Delahunty from Subiaco Football Club was named 2019 Sandover Medallist at the vote count at Optus Stadium tonight, Monday September 16, with a total of 28 votes.

Delahunty finished the count one vote ahead of Subiaco teammate Kyal Horsley on 27 votes, and previous Sandover Medal winners Kane Mitchell (24 votes) and Jye Bolton (22 votes), from Claremont.

Delahunty polled votes in 13 games after averaging 27 possessions and 15 hit-outs during the season. A best-on-ground performance in the final round saw him secure the Sandover Medal by a solitary vote.

Sandover Medal voting reverted this year to a 3-2-1 system, with multiple medals to be awarded in the case of a tie. Delahunty’s win saw him receive the 109th Sandover Medal.


2019 SANDOVER MEDAL TOP 10                             

28 – Lachlan Delahunty (Subiaco)

27 – Kyal Horsley (Subiaco)

24 – Kane Mitchell (Claremont)   

22 – Jye Bolton (Claremont)        

20 – Haiden Schloithe (South Fremantle)

19 – Clinton Jones (Perth)

16 – Aaron Black (West Perth)

16 – Ben Sokol (Subiaco)

15 – Bailey Banfield (Claremont)

15 – Jacob Dragovich (South Fremantle)

15 – Rohan Kerr (East Perth)

The winners of the Simply Energy WAFL Colts, WAFL Reserves and WAFLW competitions were also honoured on the night, along with other WA Football Awards for Excellence.

Simply Energy Colts Jack Clarke Medal

Koopah Todd (West Perth)

WAFL Reserves Prendergast Medal

Matthew Bogensperger (Peel Thunder)

WAFLW Dhara Kerr Fairest & Best Award

Hayley Miller (Subiaco) & Danika Pisconeri (Subiaco)

Bernie Naylor Medal – WAFL Leading Goalkicker

Ben Sokol (Subiaco)

JJ Leonard Coach of the Year

Beau Wardman (Subiaco)

Umpires Montgomery Medal

Matt Adams

Rodriguez Shield – Champion Club

Subiaco Football Club

AFL 18s All Australians

Liam Henry (Claremont)

Luke Jackson (East Fremantle)

Trent Rivers (East Fremantle)

Deven Robertson (Perth)

Jeremy Sharp (East Fremantle)

Elijah Taylor (Perth)

Coach: Peter Sumich