Latest News

East Fremantle claim Optus WAFLW crown Saturday, September 14, 2019 - 4:54 PM

East Fremantle have claimed the inaugural Optus WAFLW Premiership after a hard-fought 33-point victory over Swan Districts at Mineral Resources Park on Saturday. 

The clubs second-straight flag was built off the back of a dominant three-goal second quarter, seeing the Sharks take a 25-point lead the long break. 

Roxy Roux kicked the first goal of the final quarter to all but seal the victory for the women in blue, collecting the first-ever WAFLW Premiership.

The historic win was built off the back of midfield dominance, seeing the likes of Evie Gooch, Ashlee Atkins and Gabby O’Sullivan getting plenty of the ball.

Atkins goal on the quarter-time siren from a 50-metre free kick saw the momentum swing the way of the Sharks, before a classy checkside from O’Sullivan in the second pushed East Fremantle clear. 

Stephanie Sparke added her second early in the third term, while Ashley Sharpe tried desperately for the Swans outfit with a goal of her own late in the quarter. 

Despite a late challenge from the Swans, East Fremantle held firm in the last to run out 33-point victors. 

Gabby O’Sullivan was awarded the Lou Knitter Medal for the best afield, while Gooch held the cup aloft as the captain of the East Fremantle side. 


EF: 2.1      5.3.      6.3.    8.3  (51)
SD: 0.1     1.2        3.2     4.4  (28)

EF: O’Sullivan, Gooch, Roux, Atkins, Pluschke  
SD: Strom, Cain, Sharp, Gibson, Bowen 

EF: Roux, Sparke 2, Tapner, Atkins, Ashley, O'Sullivan 
SD: Gibson, M.Hyde, Davison, Sharp