Latest News

Top Players Recognised at Perth Football League AwardsWednesday, September 11, 2019 - 12:02 PM

On Monday 9 September the Crown Ballroom was filled with over 900 guests to celebrate the 2019 Perth Football League season.

One of the biggest attendances in recent years saw many awarded for their outstanding seasons.

North Fremantle’s Ryan Cook claimed the nights top award, the CJ Jamieson Medal as the A Grade’s Best and Fairest player for 2019.

After retiring from the WAFL last season Cook joined the Perth Football League this season finishing with 18 votes across seven games including five best on ground performances.

Cook finished one vote ahead of Trinity Aquinas’ Jamie Birrell who has finished third for the award on three occasions (2012, 2014, 2018).

Scarborough’s Scott Worthington rounded out the top three in A Grade, finishing with 14 votes.

Whitford Amateur Football Club’s Troy Skilton took out the TR Howard Medal for the first time as the B Grade Best and Fairest player. Skilton polled four votes more than the rest of the grade with five players finishing in second place.

Trinity Aquinas’ Mason Nicolaou claimed the highest colts honour to win his first NK Donaldson Medal as the Phil Scott Colts best player. Nicolaou polled 22 votes across ten games finishing seven votes clear of Fremantle CBC’s Joseph Eardley.

The second season of the Women’s competition saw Rossmoyne’s Emily Burton take out the Women’s A Grade best and fairest medal. Warnbro Swan’s Kerrilee Brown was awarded the B Grade medal while Swan Valley’s Kayla Augustynek was the C Grade winner. Amber Ugle-Hayward kicked 24 goals for the season to be crowded A Grade’s leading goal kicker.

The Men’s A Grade Leading Goal Kicker award went to Kingsley player James Del Borrello who kicked 52 goals for the year. Curtin Uni Wesley’s Cory Dell’Olio and Ben Saunders both won the B Grade Leading Goal kicker award with 56 goals each for the year.

The Ron Webster Memorial award for the senior champion club was awarded to Curtin Uni Wesley Football Club who had an impressive year with their league, reserves and colts’ sides all making finals. The TK Naylor award for the Colts champion club was awarded to Bullcreek Leeming. The champion club awards are calculated by both on and off field points with points awarded for each win, meeting attendance, payments, paperwork submitted on time. Points are deducted for send offs and for match day fines.

The LA Tetley award for best player of the 2019 State Program was awarded to Ned Brennan from Fremantle CBC. Colin Priddis from the Scarborough Football Club won the administrator of the year while Whitford’s Adam Salecic won the Ken Armstrong Senior Community Coach of the year Award.

This year we had two new inductees into the Hall of Champions which recognises the greatest WA Amateur Footballers or those legends of the game who started their careers in amateur football. This year we welcomed Peter Grosser and Milton Sanders.

Congratulates to all our winners as we conclude another season of amateur football.

Full list of winners:
Grade  Winner Club
A Grade
(CJ Jamieson Medal)
Ryan Cook North Fremantle
A Reserves Nicholas Bowe North Beach
B Grade
(TR Howard Medal)
Troy Skilton Whitford
B Reserves Claxton Anderson West Coast
C1 Shannon Fernando Bassendean
C1 Reserves Jake Roberts Bassendean          
C2 Daniel Spry Canning Vale
C2 Reserves Mathew Johnson Swan Valley
C3 Jordan Walley Jandakot
C3 Reserves Jacob Goodrick Secret Harbour
C4 Reece Hocking Noranda
C4 Reserves Mitchell Cornell Cobras    
D1 Craig Hall North Beach
D1 Reserves Jesse Wilson Curtin Uni Wesley
E1 Andrew Joseph West Coast
E2 Matthew Hatch ECU
E3 Bradley Robertson Warnbro Swans
Women’s A Emily Burton Rossmoyne
Women’s B Kerrilee Brown Warnbro Swans
Women’s C Kayla Augustynek Swan Valley
(N.K Donaldson Medal)
Mason Nicolaou Trinity Aquinas
DBC Nicholas Carter Whitford
IDC Zachary Fuller Bullcreek Leeming
LKC Mason Craigie Kwinana
BJC Toby Ross University
Administrator of the Year Colin Priddis Scarborough
Coach of the Year Adam Salecic Whitford

TK Naylor Award

Champion Colts Club

  Bullcreek Leeming

Ron Webster

Champion Senior Club

  Curtin Uni Wesley
Leading Goal Kicker A Grade

James Del Borrello

52 Goals

Leading Goal Kicker B Grade

Cory Dell’Olio & Ben Saunders

56 Goals

Curtin Uni Wesley
Leading Goal Kicker Women’s A Grade

Amber Ugle-Hayward

24 Goals

LA Tetley Award - Best State Player Ned Brennan Fremantle CBC  
Midway Ford Club Umpire of the Year Ben Meredith  
Midway Ford Panel Umpire of the Year Paul St Quinten