Latest News

Round 3 WAFL ResultsSaturday, April 14, 2018 - 8:28 PM - by Chris Pike

SUBIACO has shot clear on top of the WAFL ladder as the last remaining undefeated team after a 96-point hammering of Swan Districts to open Round 3 on Saturday with Claremont opening its account with a thrilling win over East Fremantle.

The first two matches of Round 3 both took place on Saturday afternoon with Subiaco beating Swan Districts 21.14 (140) to 6.8 (44) and Claremont defeated East Fremantle 12.11 (83) to 11.13 (79).

And on Sunday, South Fremantle beat West Perth 15.6 (96) to 13.10 (88) and Perth held on to beat Peel Thunder 12.13 (85) to 11.13 (79).

Subiaco and Swan Districts met in the top-of-the-table clash at Leederville Oval with the two teams the last remaining undefeated sides in the competition over the opening two rounds.

The Lions made their third emphatic statement to open the 2018 campaign by the end of the day, beating Swans by 96 points on the back of beating East Perth by 118 points and South Fremantle by 58.

Brad Stevenson and Ben Sokol kicked four goals each for Subiaco with Rowen Powell booting three and Kyle Halligan two.

Chris Phelan compiled 32 disposals for the Lions, Josh Deluca 31, Hayden Kennedy 29, Kyal Horsley 27, Lachlan Delahunty 27 and Leigh Kitchin 26.

Rhys Palmer kicked two goals to go with 20 possessions for Swan Districts with Adam Faulkner picking up 21 disposals and Steven Payne 20.

It was then a much tighter affair at Claremont Oval with Claremont and East Fremantle doing battle to try and build some early season momentum.

The Tigers in the end won by four points for their first win of the season after losing in Round 1 to West Perth before the Round 2 bye. The win came when Keifer Yu goaled after the siren following a free-kick.

The Sharks are now 1-2 having lost to Peel and Claremont, but beating last year's wooden spooners Perth.

Alex Manuel kicked four goals for Claremont and Tom Lee two while Ryan Lim gathered 28 possessions, Jye Bolton 28, Morgan Davies 25 and Jared Hardisty 25.

Jack Perham booted four goals for East Fremantle, Nick Kommer two and Jarrad Jansen two.

Jayden Schofield returned for East Fremantle from suspension with 32 possessions while Cameron Eardley had it 29 times, Nick Kommer 27, Dion Anthony 25, Jansen 24, Dylan Winton 23 and Sean Henson 20.

Then on Sunday at HBF Arena, West Perth started strongly with five goals to one in the first quarter and led by as much as 24 points by quarter-time.

South Fremantle responded with four goals in the opening nine minutes of the second term and it was a tight contest the rest of the way. 

The lead changed seven times in the second half alone but South Fremantle kicked the last three goals of the game to come from nine points down when Tyler Keitel kicked his third goal for West Perth to end up winning by eight points to make it seven straight over the Falcons.

Sandover Medallist Haiden Schloithe kicked four goals to go with 28 possessions for South Fremantle with Shane Hockey having 29 disposals, Nick Suban 22 and Ryan Cook 22.

Ben Saunders and Ashton Hams kicked three goals each, and Blaine Johnson and Matthew Parker two.

Shane Nelson racked up 41 possessions for West Perth, Aaron Black 32 and Andrew Strijk 25. Keitel kicked three goals, Jay van Berlo two and Rudy Riddoch two.

The round then concluded at Bendigo Bank Stadium with Perth holding off a fast-finishing Peel to break a nine-game losing run against the premiers of the past two WAFL seasons.

Perth had opened up a game winning 38-point advantage by three quarter-time, but Peel stormed home with the only five goals of the last quarter. Bu the Demons were able to hold on to win by six points.

Clint Jones racked up 35 possessions for Perth, Michael Sinclair 32, Cody Leggett 30, Corey Yeo 23 and Matthew Taylor 21.

Spencer White booted five goals for the Demons, Richard Bourne two and Marshall Jones two.

Ben Howlett compiled 33 disposals for Peel, Taylin Duman 28, Ben Hancock 24, Ethan Hughes 24, Danyle Pearce 23 and Ryan Nyhuis 23.

Leroy Jetta kicked three goals for the Thunder and Blair Bell two.

Subiaco 21.14 (140)
defeated Swan Districts 6.8 (44)
Claremont 12.11 (83) defeated East Fremantle 11.13 (79)
West Perth 13.10 (88) lost to South Fremantle 15.6 (96)
Peel Thunder 11.13 (79) lost to Perth 12.13 (85)

Subiaco 13.10 (88) lost to Swan Districts 15.8 (98)
Claremont 13.13 (91) defeated East Fremantle 12.13 (85)
West Perth 12.6 (78) defeated South Fremantle 10.16 (76)
Peel Thunder 10.13 (73) lost to Perth 15.5 (95)

Subiaco 12.6 (78)
defeated Swan Districts 5.12 (42)
Claremont 9.8 (62) lost to East Fremantle 15.8 (98)
West Perth 8.9 (57)
defeated South Fremantle 8.6 (54)
Peel Thunder 8.9 (57) lost to Perth 15.12 (102)


Click the graphics below for specific match reports.