Latest News

State 16s claim National ChampionshipFriday, July 14, 2017 - 11:28 AM

Share |

The Deppro WA State 16s claimed the NAB AFL National 16s Championship with a thrilling one-point win over Vic Metro today, Friday July 14 at the GABBA.

Western Australia 11.8-74 defeated Vic Metro 11.7-73 to remain undefeated at the championships after earlier wins over South Australia and Vic Country.

The game against Vic Metro came down the last quarter as scores were levelled and both teams traded goals, with the lead changing hands four times before East Fremantle's Trey Ruscoe booted his third goal with only minutes remaining to seal the win. 

East Fremantle teammate Jeremy Sharp also played an important role in the final quarter with two crucial goals. Leno Thomas from Claremont was WA's other multiple goal-scorer with two in the first quarter that helped WA get off to a strong start.

Vic Metro hit back in the second quarter with four goals to one and lead by 10 points at half time but WA responded in the third quarter to reclaim the lead and build an 11-point buffer heading into the final term.

Deven Robertson (Perth) collected 24 possessions for WA and was well supported by Trent Rivers (East Fremantle) 17, Liam Henry (Claremont) 15, Jack Musika (South Fremantle) 15, and Riley Garcia (Swan Districts) 15. 

WA    3.2     4.3    9.6    11.8 (74) 

VM     1.3    5.7    7.7    11.7 (73)

WA goals: Ruscoe 3, Thomas 2, Brogan-Henry, Cox, Garcia, Middleton, Smith, Sharp 1. 

VM goals: Jekker, Rossiter 3, Mahoney, McAsey, Mott, O'Sullivan, Rowell 1.