Latest News

Peel win Landmark Country ChampionshipsMonday, July 10, 2017 - 1:30 PM

Share |

PEEL Football and Netball League claimed the 2017 Landmark Country Football Championships Division One title with a win over the South West Football League in the Grand FInal at Leederville Oval on Sunday July 9.

It was the second straight year the two had met in the Division 1 Grand Final and back-to-back titles for Peel.

This followed an epic colts Grand Final in which the SWFL kicked a goal after the siren to steal a win from the Peel Cavaliers at Bendigo Bank Stadium on Saturday.





South West  9.4 (58) defeated Peel 8.5 (53)                                             

Goals - South West: Taine Williams 4, Sebastian Dixon 2, Jacob Pickett 1, Kade Triplett 1, Eli Hill 1

Peel: Oliver Walton 3, Deklan Gardiner McKenna 2, Declan Power 1, Wesley Steele 1, Joshua Hill 1

Best - South West: Kyle Hickman, Taine Williams, Lachlan Hernaman, Tobi Horton, Sebastian Dixon

Peel     Oliver Walton, Jordan Ness, Joshua Hill, Jacob Hewitt, Keiran Desando



Peel 6.10 (46) defeated South West 4.6 (30)                                           

Goals: Peel - Kieran May 1, Courtney Lakay 1, Andrew Haydon 1, Clay Smith 1, Stuart Puls 1, Robert Falkstrom

South West - Jayce Fontana 1, Brett Peake 1, Aiden Clarke 1, Patrick Farrant 1

Best: Peel - Courtney Lakay, Andrew Haydon, Cameron White, Tyson Phillips, Emmanuel Collard

South West        Blair Della Franca, Mason Hislop, Travis Justins, Michael Russell



Central Midlands Coastal 15.8 (98) defeated Goldfields 10.6 (66)                                       

Goals:  CMCFL - Rory Muller 3, Shaquille McKenzie 3, Kelvin Lawrence 3, Warren Benjamin 2, Rhys Waters 1, Simon Moore 1, Brad Bennet 1, Drew Rohde 1

Goldfields - Alex Devitt 3, Scott Worthington 2, Bradley Ridings 2, Alexander Stewart 1, Jordan Delbridge 1, Brad Dick 1

Best: CMCFL - Simon Moore, Rhys Waters, Matt Malpass, Mathew Murnane, Geoffrey Watson

Goldfields - Alex Devitt, Scott Worthington, Joshua Rymer, Scott Foley, Bradley Ridings



DIVISION 1 (Jock Coleman Award) - Andrew Haydon, Peel FNL

DIVISION 2 – North (Bud Byfield Award) - Rhys Waters, Central Midlands Coastal FL

DIVISION 2 – South (Jock Beattie Award) - Scott Worthington, Goldfields FL

COLTS SECTION (Ken Baxter Award) - Corey Linthorne, Great Southern Storm

COLTS DEVELOPING PLAYER AWARD (Clem Bray Award) - Blake East, Regional Districts


DICK SMITH MEMORIAL AWARD Coach of the Championships - Clayton Falkingham, Peel FNL

JJ LUSSICK AWARD Umpire of the Championships - Aaron Andrews, South West FL

RISING STAR AWARD Donated by WAFL Combined Past Players and Officials - Aiden Clarke, South West FL


LANDMARK MEDAL Fairest and Best Division 1 Grand Final - Courtney Lakay, South West FL

LANDMARK MEDAL Fairest and Best Division 2 Grand Final - Simon Moore, Central Midlands Coastal

KYM “Freddy” CURNOW TROHPY Fairest and Best Colts Grand Final - Oliver Walton, Peel Cavaliers


AVON - Frazer Perry, Kellerberrin/Tammin

CENTRAL MIDLANDS COASTAL - Rhys Waters, Jurien Bay, Jayden Magro, Jurien Bay, Simon Moore, Jurien Bay

CENTRAL WHEATBELT - Blake Smith, Mukinbudin

EASTERN DISTRICTS - Alex James, Hyden/Karlgarin

GOLDFIELDS - Scott Worthington, Boulder, Alex Devitt, Boulder

GREAT NORTHERN - Mitchell Boyle, Railways

GREAT SOUTHERN - Matt Orzel, North Albany

LOWER SOUTH WEST - Tim Ioannau, Deanmill
MORTLOCK - Joel Leeson, Dalwallinu, Arron Russell, Wongan/Ballidu

ONGERUP - Luke Bairstow, Lake Grace/Pingrup, Christopher Wollaston, Newdegate

PEEL - Jeffrey Carter, Pinjarra, Andrew Haydon, South Mandurah, Matthew Buxton, Centrals, Courtney Lakay, Waroona, Tyson Phillips, Halls Head

SOUTH WEST - Aiden Clarke, Bunbury, Brett Peake, Bunbury, Joel Houghton, Collie Eagles

UPPER GREAT SOUTHERN - Ryan Melvin, Wickepin

COACH - Clayton Falkingham, Peel FNL


GREAT SOUTHERN STORM - Cain Shaw, Bayulu, Brandon Woods, Albany, Corey Linthorne, Royals, Stewart Davies, Albany, Hamish McMorran, Royals

NORTHERN SUNS - Kobe Simpson, Mingenew, Leslie Rossiter, Railways, Jandimarra Dwyer, Mullewa

PEEL CAVALIERS - Kyle Donaldson, Rockingham, Josh Hill, Baldivis, Matthew Bennell, Mandurah, Oliver Walton, Baldivis, Riley Allison, Rockingham, Ivan Lyndon, Mandurah, Deklan Gardiner-McKenna, Baldivis

REGIONAL DISTRICTS - Jaxon East, Deanmill, Blake East, Deanmill, Brodey Eades, Mines Rovers, Jethro Namnik, Tigers

SOUTH WEST - Ryan Bennell, South Bunbury, Jacob Pickett, Harvey Bulls, Blake Shanahan, Collie Eagles, Jordan Falco, Bunbury, Taine Williams, Harvey Brunswick Leschenault

COACH - David Lewis, South West