Latest News

West Australian Football Commission electionsFriday, December 15, 2017 - 10:24 AM

The results of the elections for Commissioners of the West Australian Football Commission were endorsed on Wednesday 13 December 2017, by the Nominee Members of the WAFC (WA’s AFL and WAFL Clubs) at a meeting of WA Football stakeholders.

Current Commissioner Grant Dorrington was reappointed for a second term of three years, and Chris Cottier and Brian O’Donnell were each appointed as new Commissioners for terms of three years.

WAFC Chairman Murray McHenry congratulated all three on their appointments.

“Grant has done a terrific job since being appointed as a Commissioner and will continue to add tremendous value with his knowledge, experience and passion for WA Football,” Mr McHenry said.

“This year’s election attracted a record field of high-quality candidates and I am pleased to welcome Brian and Chris as new Commissioners.  They bring the skills, experience and qualifications required for the WAFC Board to best meet our goals over the next five years in what promises to be an exciting and challenging time for football.

“I look forward to working with all Commissioners in the implementation of the WAFC 2017-22 Strategic Plan, which was developed following our Strategic Review of Football and sets a major reform agenda for WA Football to ensure the sport remains successful and sustainable whilst delivering our vision of connecting and enhancing WA communities through our great game.”

Grant Dorrington OAM BEM

Reappointed for a 3-year term from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2020

Mr Dorrington has been a Commissioner since 2015 and is Chairman of the WAFC’s Heritage Committee and a member of the Football Affairs, Facilities and Aboriginal Football Advisory Committees. Grant’s lifetime of involvement with football has included playing League at East Perth, coaching at Junior and League level, and leading WA to its first ever Teal Cup win in 1985 to be named All-Australian Coach. He also worked as General Manager of the WA Football Development Trust, Manager Special Projects at Fremantle Football Club and then Director of Football at the WAFC.



Chris Cottier

Appointed for a 3-year term from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2020

Mr Cottier is Community Relations Manager for BHP WA and has held a range of senior leadership positions within the public, private and community sector including Corporate Affairs Manager and Manager of Indigenous Affairs for BHP Billiton. He has also served as Acting Director General for the Department of Indigenous Affairs and is a board member for the Pilbara Development Commission. Chris is President of Hedland’s AFL Masters team the Flat Back Turtles, and a committee member, coach, and umpire for the Hedland Reds Junior Football Club.



Brian O’Donnell

Appointed for a 3-year term from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2020

Mr O’Donnell is Director of Finance and Investments at Australian Capital Equity. He completed 10 years as a Director of Fremantle Football Club in February 2016, which included being Chairman of the Finance, Audit, Integrity and Risk Committee, and a member of the Joint WA Football Working Group for the New Perth Stadium. He was awarded Fremantle’s Con Regan Medal for his service in 2017. Brian is also a Director at Capilano Honey and The Guide Dog Foundation and is Chairman of BCI Minerals Limited. Roles in community sport have included junior cricket coach, junior football team manager, and Secretary of East Fremantle Cricket Club.